Happy Award Honors Trailblazing Contributions to Service-Learning 

February 7, 2024.

BATON ROUGE, LA --The Center for Community Engagement, Learning, and Leadership (CCELL) is pleased to announce the ten recipients of the 2023-2024 Happy Awards. Collectively, these faculty/staff, students, and community partners represent the highest ideals of reciprocal service-learning partnerships. 

The award ceremony will be held Wednesday, February 21, 2024, at the LSU Foundation Center for Philanthropy Room from 5 to 6 p.m.

The 2023-2024 honorees are:

  • BREC Farr Park Equestrian Center Hearts & Hooves Program representatives:
    • Wren Brumfield, Riding Instructor
    • Camille Chapman, Education Program Specialist
    • Charles “Bo” Jones, Farr Park Volunteer of the Year
    • Afnan Mansour, Riding Instructor
    • Melissa Wood, Special Interest Facility Manager
  • Jennifer Cramer, Director, T. Harry Williams Center for Oral History
  • Ashton Dalton, Spring 2025 Engaged Citizen Program candidate, Animal Sciences senior, College of Agriculture
  • Emily Demps, Spring 2025 Engaged Citizen Program candidate, Management senior, E. J. Ourso College of Business and LSU Ogden Honors College
  • LSU Football in Senegal Study Abroad collaborators:
    • Benjamin “Bo” Bordelon, Student-Athlete, Management sophomore, E.J. Ourso College of Business and LSU Football
    • Samba Dieng, Senior Internationalization Officer and Executive Director, International Programs
    • Head Coach Brian Kelly, LSU Football
    • Kenyatta Walker, Associate Director (Soccer & Softball), Cox Communications Academic Center for Student-Athletes
  • Saylor Higgins, Spring 2024 Engaged Citizen Program candidate, Animal Sciences, College of Agriculture
  • Dr. Elaine Maccio, Associate Professor, Associate Director and MSW Program Director, LSU School of Social Work, College of Human Sciences and Education
  • Dr. Langley McClay, Director, LSU Pre-College Programs and Future Scholars, Office of Enrollment Management & Student Success
  • Partnership between Louisiana Organ Procurement Agency (LOPA) and LSU:
    • Alisha Prather, Associate, Harris, Deville & Associates
    • Lori Steele, Community Educator & Media Specialist, LOPA
    • Sadie Wilks, Instructor, Manship School of Mass Communication
  • Dr. Danielle Thomas, Instructor, Sociology, College of Humanities and Social Sciences

“It is wonderful to see both first-time and long-time practitioners of service-learning on campus, innovators in the field, steadfast community partners, and engaged students honored with a ‘Happy’ this year,” said CCELL Director Dr. Sarah Becker. 

Happy Awards are given annually to ten individuals to recognize excellence in service-learning. CCELL initiated The "Happy" to commemorate former director Jan Shoemaker's ten years of distinguished service, and commitment to educate and provide service for the common good. Happy Award recipients receive a commemorative lapel pin, which was designed by service-learning students based on input from Shoemaker's friends and colleagues. Award recipients can be faculty, students, and community partners. The nomination period occurs every fall.


Taylor Armer, Program Manager
Center for Community Engagement, Learning, and Leadership
(Phone) 225-578-4245